What is HVAC Certification Requirements

HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) is the technology of providing comfortable indoor environment with acceptable temperature and air quality. The HVAC industry consist of a wide variety of specialties, with roles including operation and maintenance, system design and construction that each have different education and training requirements.
What is HVAC Certification Requirements, Types and Getting Online License, read below.

What is HVAC Certification Requirements

What is HVAC Certification?

The HVAC industry was previously regulated by the HVAC equipment manufacturers, but regulating organizations such as HARDI, ASHRAE, SMACNA, ACCA, AMCA, and International Mechanical Code came into being to support and encourage high standards. In United States, HVAC engineers generally are members of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) or EPA Universal CFC certified (most of the state).

HVAC installers and mechanics – also known as HVAC technicians are required by the State Licensing Board and employers to obtain certification or license before they can practice as an HVAC technician. Below are facts technicians must know pertaining to HVAC certification.

Who needs to have HVAC certification?

Most of the States or Local Licensing boards require HVAC technicians to obtain certification and/or license in order to practice their profession except for a few states including South Dakota, Colorado and Wyoming.

The U.S Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) establishes HVAC certification requirement for anyone who performs installation, maintenance, service, repair and disposal of refrigerants that releases the chemicals inside the appliance into the atmosphere or environment.

What are the types of certification do HVAC technicians need?

HVAC technicians handling a container with refrigerant are required to obtain the EPA Section 608 certification before they can start to professionally perform the work. You can take one or all four types of exams depending on the job you wants to pursue.

Type I Certification – For jobs to service small domestic appliances.
Type II Certification – Required for primary jobs for handling of equipment with high pressure refrigerant such as supermarket refrigeration and process refrigeration.
Type III Certification – For HVAC technicians to service and dispose of equipment with low pressure refrigerant, like chillers.
Universal Certification – HVAC technicians who want to service all types of equipment must possess the Universal Certification.The EPA Universal Certification Exam Contains:

  • 100 items of multiple-choice questions
  • 25 items of core questions
  • 25 items of Type I questions
  • 25 items of Type II questions
  • 25 items of Type III questions

You need a score of 72% in each section to pass the exam. In other words 18 correct answers out of the 25 questions to get a certification for each type. However, if one fails to pass 1 or 2 sets of questions but passes the Core set and at least one type of exam, he or she will still be given a certification on the type of exams passed.

You can get a brief idea of exam questions from the video below:

Can you retake the exam? Yes you can. But you can only sit for the failed exam type.

Getting EPA HVAC Certification Online

Online HVAC certification programs offer students a flexible schedule and complete courses at their own pace. However, they will still need to get some hands-on experience in the field in order to qualify for technician jobs after graduation.

What is HVAC Certification Requirements for HVAC Technicians to apply for license?

What are the certification requirements for HVAC Technicians

To become an HVAC technician, you will need to get your HVAC certification through an accredited HVAC training center. Many vocational, community and trade schools offer HVAC certification programs and associate’s degree. These programs cover basic and advanced courses in heating, air conditioning and refrigeration systems in both commercial and residential settings.

Getting an HVAC license typically involves showing that you have minimum work experience or educational experience in the trade, and then passing the HVAC licensing board examination. Pay the application fees for each type of HVAC license you obtain, and pay renewal fees as required by your State Board of HVAC Contractors.

What are the benefits of being a certified or licensed HVAC technician?

Certified or licensed HVAC technicians have more privileges and wider opportunities than those who do not have certification. For one, they can be promoted to supervisory positions, service managers, sales or marketing jobs.

HVAC Certification Requirements stated here may applies to the follwing states:
California, Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Colorado, Ontario, Arkansas, Florida, Tennessee, Missouri, Texas, Alabama, GA, NC, PA, SC. findeen.com

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Ravinder Tulsiani says:

    good point

  2. LinkedIn says:

    A safety system that makes your life tougher just isn’t
    value having, because then you’ll by no means use it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *